SimpleFoodEffects

Simple Food Effects

Note: I have stopped working on this plugin to work on my new plugin, Prison 3-in-1. This means that it will no longer be updated.
http://www.galaxinarealms.galaxinatech.com/res/Simple-Food-Effects.png
Simple Food Effects allows you to add potion effects to foods. They are then added to players whenever they eat it. Why would you want to do this? Because it's fun!

Features

  1. Easily configurable
  2. Specify an effect, duration, and amplifier for any food
  3. Permissions system to restrict players from getting effects from certain types of food or all foods.

Installation

  • Download SimpleFoodEffects
  • Drag the jar file that you downloaded into your /plugins directory in your server folder
  • Reload/restart your server
  • The fun begins

Permissions

- simplefoodeffects.*
Access to all potion effects
- simplefoodeffects.<foodname>
Access to only the specified potion effect

Configuration

The configuration may seem a bit confusing at first, but trust me - it's not.
Default config:

foods: 
  grilled_pork: 
    effect: speed-2
    duration: 200
  cooked_beef:
    effect: strength
    duration: 200


Okay, lets break that down. In the config, I specify that I want to add an effect to a cooked porkchop:

foods:
   grilled_pork:


You must use the technical food terms when defining the food! They are listed below:

  • Steak - cooked_beef
  • Raw Beef - raw_beef
  • Cooked Porkchop - grilled_pork
  • Raw Porkchop - pork
  • Raw Fish - raw_fish
  • Raw Chicken - raw_chicken
  • Cooked Fish - cooked_fish
  • Cooked Chicken - cooked_chicken
  • Rotten Flesh - rotten_flesh
  • Melon (Slice) - melon
  • Pumpkin Pie - pumpkin_pie
  • Apple - apple
  • Mushroom Stew - mushroom_soup
  • Bread - bread
  • Milk Bucket - milk_bucket
  • Cookie - cookie
  • Carrot - carrot_item
  • Raw Potato - potato_item
  • Baked Potato - baked_potato
  • Poisonous Potato - poisonous_potato

    Note that the plugin DOES NOT support cake or golden apples!
    Just simply add the name followed by a colon (:)
    Tip: YAML can't have tabs. Instead, manually space the elements as shown in the examples.

Onto the next section.

    effect: speed-2
    duration: 200


The effect is the name of the effect, followed by an optional amplifier. The amplifier is basically what happens when you put a potion in with glowstone - it's amplified. If you wish to include an amplifier, just type a '-' and then the number. If you don't, just leave it at the name of the effect. The potion effect names are blindness, nausea, weakness, fire-resistance, instant-damage, instant-health, hunger, saturation (opposite of hunger), strength, invisibility, night-vision, poison, regeneration, slowness, speed, water-breathing, weakness, and wither.

That's basically all there is to it. Simply add as many as you want. I know the food list was a bit lengthy but I wanted to make sure you knew what you were doing! Thanks for reading, and enjoy your copy of SimpleFoodEffects!

If you are a developer, and are interested in reading my source code, click the "Repository" button in the menu under the BukkitDev logo!

==============================================================================

http://galaxinarealms.com/res/rsz_galaxinarealms-pluginbanner.png
This is a GalaxinaRealms plugin. Feel free to join and play with us! galaxinarealms.com

You must login to post a comment. Don't have an account? Register to get one!

  • 9 comments
  • Avatar of Powercows Powercows Jun 23, 2014 at 05:32 UTC - 0 likes

    get errors when trying to eat fish or flesh

  • Avatar of Yzz17 Yzz17 Mar 30, 2014 at 22:42 UTC - 0 likes

    nice plugin thanks

  • Avatar of sugeoau sugeoau Mar 23, 2014 at 08:52 UTC - 0 likes

    This is really great plugin!!!
    It is working on 1.7.2

    However, I can not change the config file since it is forced to get back to original data when reloaded.
    Bukkit does not give me any error on this, so I can only make 2 effect that is written on the original config file.

    Anything I can do on this matter? Please help me.

  • Avatar of geletulp geletulp Mar 09, 2014 at 21:40 UTC - 0 likes

    maybe you can add mutli-world support? That should be nice!

  • Avatar of SirFaizdat SirFaizdat Jan 21, 2014 at 00:06 UTC - 0 likes

    @Seaboiii: Go

    Currently there is none, however I am adding it in the next update :)

    Last edited Jan 21, 2014 by SirFaizdat
  • Avatar of Seaboiii Seaboiii Jan 20, 2014 at 23:36 UTC - 1 like

    @SirFaizdat: Go

    Is there a command to reload the config? Much easier rather than restart after configuring

  • Avatar of SirFaizdat SirFaizdat Jan 20, 2014 at 23:11 UTC - 0 likes

    I just have to wait for the file to be approved and it should be good to go!

  • Avatar of TwekerPMC TwekerPMC Jan 20, 2014 at 23:07 UTC - 0 likes

    @Seaboiii: Go

    Lol, im watching you in your server :3

  • Avatar of Seaboiii Seaboiii Jan 20, 2014 at 22:59 UTC - 1 like

    Sounds very promising

  • 9 comments

Facts

Date created
Jan 20, 2014
Category
Last update
Jan 20, 2014
Development stage
Beta
Language
  • enUS
License
GNU General Public License version 2 (GPLv2)
Curse link
SimpleFoodEffects
Downloads
156
Recent file

Authors